Skip to main content
7th International 4 Corners of Cardiology
Times are shown in your local time zone GMT
Uploaded Image

Prof David Hare

Professor David Hare studied at the University of Melbourne and Guy’s Hospital, London. He is currently is Director of Secondary Prevention, Heart Failure Service and Cardiology Research at Austin Health, where he is also the Health Service Research Integrity Advisor. He has been the Cardiovascular Research Coordinator for the University of Melbourne and currently is a Professorial Fellow at the university, over the years having supervised more than 80 research students, and each year having over 1,000 international citations to his personal research. His research ranges from the basic molecular laboratory to randomised clinical trials and psychosocial aspects of heart disease. He was awarded the AMRF Distinguished Scientist Medal in 2011. In 2020 he was nominated for Australian of the Year: Australian of the Year 2020 nominees. He received an Order of Australia Medal in 2021 for his services to cardiology

Uploaded Image

A/Prof Sarah Zaman

Associate Professor Sarah Zaman is an Academic Interventional Cardiologist at Westmead Hospital and the Westmead Applied Research Centre, University of Sydney, Australia. A/Prof Zaman is a national leader in academic cardiology, as a Heart Foundation Future Leader Fellow and through her roles on guideline writing committees. She has been recognized internationally within interventional cardiology; selected from a world-wide application process to be a United States’ SCAI-ELM Fellow and to take part in The Lancet commission on ischaemic heart disease. A/Prof Zaman has a PhD from the University of Sydney, targeting prevention of sudden cardiac death. She leads a Women’s Heart Disease Research Program at the University of Sydney that involves clinical trial and cohort studies. She has received $4.6 million in competitive grant funding, ~$9 million in Industry support and has published 84 journal articles/book chapters. She is regularly invited faculty to international scientific meetings (e.g. TCT, ACC and SCAI) and organizes the Australian/New Zealand Endovascular Therapies Scientific Sessions. A/Prof Sarah Zaman is an active advocate for women in cardiology, having co-founded the Women in Cardiology groups for Australia/New Zealand.

Uploaded Image

Prof John Atherton

John Atherton is a Pre-eminent Staff Specialist and Director of Cardiology at the Royal Brisbane and Women’s Hospital (RBWH); Professor, Faculty of Medicine, University of Queensland; Adjunct Professor, Faculty of Health, Queensland University of Technology; and an appointed member of the Australian Government Medical Services Advisory Committee.
Professor Atherton was one of four non-European official content reviewers for the 2016 European Society of Cardiology Heart Failure Guidelines, chaired the 2018 National Heart Foundation of Australia/ Cardiac Society of Australia and New Zealand (CSANZ) Heart Failure Guidelines, and sits on the Therapeutic Guidelines Cardiovascular Expert Group. He recently co-authored the first universal definition of heart failure.
Professor Atherton is Data Custodian for the Queensland Cardiac Outcomes Registry (QCOR)- Heart Failure and sits as a Director on the National Cardiac Registry Board. His clinical and research interests include investigating novel methods to detect pre-symptomatic heart disease, heart failure disease management, hypertrophic cardiomyopathy and cardiac genetics.

Uploaded Image

Prof Gerald Watts

Gerald F Watts is a senior consultant physician, full professor and chair of The Familial Hypercholesterolaemia-Australasia Network. He trained at Imperial and King’s Colleges in the University of London and was a scholar at Wolfson College, Oxford University. He is currently director of the Cardio-metabolic Service (Departments of Cardiology and Internal Medicine) and Professor of Cardio-metabolic Medicine at the Royal Perth Hospital and the University of Western Australia. Research interests include lipid disorders, obesity and cardiovascular prevention, and clinical interests focus on delivering improved care for FH and related conditions. Professor Watts is actively involved in teaching and supervises several MD and PhD students and post-doctoral fellows. He has authored over 750 published works and is on the editorial board of several cardiovascular and metabolic journals, including Atherosclerosis, Metabolism, and American Journal of Preventative Cardiology.

Uploaded Image

Prof Christopher Reid

Christopher Reid is a cardiovascular epidemiologist with appointments as Research Professor in both the School of Public Health at Curtin University and the School of Public Health and Preventive Medicine, Monash University. He was appointed as a John Curtin Distinguished Professor in 2018 and is Director of the Monash and Curtin Centre’s of Cardiovascular Research and Education (CCRE) and the NHMRC Centre of Research Excellence in Cardiovascular Outcomes Improvement (2016-2020). 
He holds a National Health and Medical Research Council Principal Research Fellowship (2018-2022) in addition to being the Chief Investigator on an NHMRC Program Grant (2016-2020) focusing on cardiovascular disease prevention.  He has been awarded over $113M as a Chief Investigator and has received continuous NHMRC funding since 2001.  His major research interests include clinical outcome registries, randomized controlled trials, and epidemiological cohort studies.  He has over 420 peer-reviewed publications, many of which are in leading journals including the New England Journal of Medicine, Lancet, JACC and the BMJ.
He has been Study Director for the 2nd Australian National Blood Pressure (ANBP2) Study and currently a Chief Investigator for the Aspirin in Reducing Events in the Elderly (ASPREE) Study, the Statins in Reducing Events in the elderly Trial and the Australian arms of the HOPE-3, REACH and CLARIFY Registries. He is a Principal Investigator for the Victorian Cardiac Procedures Registry Project, the Melbourne Interventional Group (MIG) registry, and the ANZSCTS National Cardiac Surgical Registry.  He participates as a WHO consultant for prevention of cardiovascular disease in Mongolia, Vietnam and the West Pacific region.

Uploaded Image

Prof Jonathan Kalman

An internationally respected Electrophysiologist, Professor Jonathan Kalman is one of the leading heart rhythm experts in Australia. Professor Kalman is head of the Royal Melbourne Heart Rhythm department which is internationally renowned for the high quality of clinical medicine and investigative research performed.
Professor Kalman’s influence was acknowledged by his peers with the bestowing of the Eric Susman Prize in 2006, an award by The Royal Australasian College of Physicians for best contribution to the knowledge of any branch of internal medicine. In 2014, Professor Kalman received from the Minister for Health, a National Health and Medical Research Council of Australia Excellence Award as the leading Practitioner Fellow in Australia.
Professor Kalman is currently the Scientific Chair of the Cardiac Society of Australia and New Zealand and also the Scientific Chair of the Asia Pacific Heart Rhythm Society. He is a Fellow of the Australasian College of Physicians, a Fellow of the American College of Cardiologists, and a Fellow of the Heart Rhythm Society. He is Professor of Medicine at The Royal Melbourne Hospital in Melbourne where he has made his unit a center of clinical, teaching and research excellence in Cardiovascular Electrophysiology.